Wherein I hereby confess

Oh, confession is therapeutic for the soul.  And sometimes gives us reason to make changes.  So shall I hereby confess that in 2011 I:

  1. indulged in far too much chocolate, often far too late at night.
  2. gave in to the devil coffee and its evil partner in crime, International Delight.
  3. expected potty training to be much faster than it was, and became, perhaps, more frustrated with it (and her) than I ought.  In the same vein,
  4. changed the words to tried and true songs.  Such as:
    Tinkle, tinkle, little pee/trickle, trickle, out of me.
    Not too fast and not to slow/just enough to help me go
    Trickle, trickle little pee/tinkle into the potty.
  5. really, really enjoyed cuteness.  Perhaps too much.

    Enjoying the cuteness.

  6. failed miserably at vegetable variety
  7. once a few timesmay have pretended to be asleep when the baby cried in the middle of the night
  8. accidentally taught my innocent preschooler the word “frickin’.”  It sounds far worse out of her little mouth than mine.  It has since been eliminated from her vocabulary – and mostly eliminated from mine.
  9. sometimes often forgot to shower (or didn’t know how long it had been since I had one)
  10. on rare occasion, and completely by accident, took the wrong toothbrush – and used it.  (Sorry, honey.  I was really tired.  And purple has been my colour for so long!).
  11. had my socks stick to the floor in something (honey, jam, potassium – you know).
  12. spent too much time on facebook
  13. played on the floor more than cleaned it (okay, I’m kind of proud of that one.  It was really difficult for me.)
  14. did not call nearly often enough the friends I so treasure
  15. watched – and enjoyed – Survivor and (ahem) The Bachelorette (that one is REALLY embarrassing)
  16. learned how to roast a chicken for the first time (and at my age!  That’s embarrassing!), make my own chicken stock, and home made chicken noodle soup (yum!)
  17. exercised long enough to fix the problem – but not long enough to maintain the correction
  18. did not kiss or hold hands with my husband nearly often enough.
  19. bought shoes at a thrift store (totally breaking one of my rules in life, but they are red and still fabulous)
  20. laughed too little and worried too much
  21. received far more than I gave
  22. talked more than listened
  23. pouted more than prayed (ouch – that’s a hard one)

So, I may be using parts of this list to write my New Year’s Non-Resolutions.  I haven’t made a resolution for eons, and don’t really like resolutions since I rarely keep them, but am feeling the urge this year to make some changes.  Not huge ones, more like attitude and relationship changes.   It may happen yet and it may show up in a post in the next couple of days…

Oh so serious, Aliyah.

Working on the laughing more bit!

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Chrisaline
    Jan 19, 2012 @ 16:50:28

    Confession is good for all of us. It is so nice to hear so many of the same confessions come from you that should have come from me 🙂

    Reply

  2. Crystal
    Feb 04, 2012 @ 07:01:47

    Ha ha, Chrisaline. I’d love to know which particular “crimes” we share…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

