This week for dinner…

I hate meal planning.  That is all.

It is probably the most dreaded of weekly activities – and therefore it typically isn’t a weekly activity.  Fortunately for me, I have had a freezer-full of delectable home-cooked meals from well-meaning friends and family who have saved my butt a thousand times since Aliyah’s hospitalization.  But now that I’m running out of said home-cooked meals, it is time for me to carry the torch again.

I would rather let it burn out.

But that is an attitude that needs to fly out the window lest I have a horrendous day thinking about all the dinners I have to cook this week!  So, I’m going to post this weeks’ menu – largely so I don’t lose it (I can always check on here again).  Plus, I’m kind of copy-catting my incredible chef-ish friend Beth, whose meal-plan for the week was so inspiring (mine will lack some lustre, since I’m not allowed to go grocery shopping this week – too much food in every pantry/corner/shelf in our house to go through).  But I’m posting suppers only.

Monday

Kitchen Sink Quesidillas

KITCHEN-SINK QUESADILLAS
From: Real Simple magazine
These are really good, and you can cook all your quesadillas at once, which is nice

1 15.5-ounce can black beans, drained
1 11-ounce can corn kernels, drained
3/4 cup salsa, drained
1 8-count package large flour tortillas
1 1/2 cups (6 ounces) shredded Cheddar or Monterey Jack
1 small red onion, thinly sliced
1/3 cup fresh cilantro leaves
1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
1/4 teaspoon black pepper
Juice of 1 to 2 limes
2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil
1 head romaine lettuce, sliced 1 inch thick

Heat oven to 400° F. In a medium bowl, combine the beans, corn, and salsa.

Place 4 tortillas on a parchment- or foil-lined baking sheet. Sprinkle with half the cheese. Using a slotted spoon, transfer the black bean mixture on top of the cheese. Sprinkle with the remaining cheese and sandwich with the remaining tortillas. Bake until the cheese has melted, 5 to 7 minutes. Meanwhile, in a large bowl, combine the onion, cilantro, salt, pepper, lime juice, and oil. Add the lettuce and toss.

Transfer the quesadillas to a cutting board. Cut each into 6 wedges. Serve with the salad. Yield: Makes 4 servings.

Tuesday

Taco salad – yet to find the right recipe.

Wednesday

Sara’s request: Home-made macaroni and cheese (I wish I had bacon…hmmm…I may have to find my way to the store yet). (And to be truthful, her request would actually be KD, which I’ve been religiously avoiding for the last few weeks.  She asks for it regularly).

Thursday

Home made chicken fingers and a veggie bake (or other veggie side-dish)

Friday

Pita Pizzas and quinoa salad

Saturday

Frozen chili, buns, a veggie side dish (I’m cheating: I do still have a few frozen meals and I just can’t think of anything else at the moment)

Sunday

I believe my parents have the kids that day – we’ll do some fending for ourselves, probably breakfast for supper or some such thing.  Crepes, French Toast, Omlet, something like that.

 

Hopefully I follow this – it’ll cause much less stress.  And I guess I do have to make a grocery trip yet…rats.

 

Leave a Reply

