Still

Five minutes Friday.  That’s all the Gypsy Mama gives you to freewrite about a topic.  No self-editing (I do that a lot), no stopping to analyze or think about things or be interrupted by something outside (that’s tough).  It’s enough time to wet your appetite, open your mind up a little, get the creative juices flowing…but not enough time to get it all out! (:  But it’s a great exercise.  Try it.  I dare you.

Here I go…

Still

10:15pm.

Be still.  And know.  That I.  Am God.

Be.  Still.

How often are we still?  What is stillness?

Antonyms: disturbed.  agitated.  unquiet.

Synonyms: calm.  quiet.  at rest.  hushed. tranquil.

My house is still.  That is, it’s quiet.  Is it calm?  Well, at the moment, while the girls sleep and rest.  It’s definitely hushed.  I hope it’s tranquil, most of the time.
Is stillness the same as solitude?
Can you have stillness when your house is full of sounds and agitation?

The dishwasher.  The TV.  The ipod.  The radio.  The alarm clock.  (Okay, that’s not a constant, but it’s frequent enough to interrupt stillness…)

I want my heart to be still.  To carry stillness into the business and busy-ness of my day.  To have calm and rest when my mind is confounded by the millions of thoughts that bombard it.  About cystinosis.  About adoption.  About parenting.  About faith.

Can I be still when my mind is full of questions?  When it’s hard to shut off the noise in my own head?

Be still.  And know.  That I Am.  God.

10:20.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. beth@redandhoney
    Jul 30, 2011 @ 21:27:54

    Nice. I love this: “I want my heart to be still. To carry stillness into the business and busy-ness of my day”… I seek the same thing, and I know just what you mean.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

