With Humble Gratitude

A million little gifts.

With our gratitude grows hope

With our gratitude our hope grows

Today is only a glimpse into the things we have to be grateful for.  A friend and her daughter came to hear Aliyah’s story and to entertain Sara, who rested on a towel-covered couch with a bucket handy to catch the results of over-heating yesterday.  An acquaintance from church dropped off (to our surprise!) a warm meal so I did not have to cook.  My own dear mother, who has the biggest servant’s heart of anyone I know, took Ali for a walk while I tended for Sara, and then cleaned my house while I napped after two hard nights.  Another friend, also from our church, brought beautiful, hand-made blankets sewn with love for my daughters.  And another couple from church invited us to their home for a delicious barbecued pork dinner, so that I did not have to cook OR clean the kitchen.

A flower blanket for baby Ali

Sara's butterfly blanket, made with love

Sara's butterfly blanket, made with love

Creativity and service abound in our friends and family.  We have had:

Over a month of frozen meals, as well as multiple hot meals both brought to us and served to us in someone else’s home

Financial gifts to help with medical costs (plus a doctor who went to bat for us and got coverage for Ali’s crazy, unapproved-in-Canada, life-sustaining drug)

Loving care for Sara whilst we sojourned in hospital with Aliyah

Garden-weeding

Flowers to greet us upon return from the hospital

Freshly baked muffins

Laundry washed and folded

Care-takers for the girls so I could rest, shop, or clean

Grocery shopping

House-cleaning

Gifts of teddy bears, hand-made blankets, clothing, home-made cleaning supplies

A brand NEW garden by the garden fairy (my mom!)

Bathroom cleaning (this is the humbl-ing-est gift and so helpful)

Friendship and listening ears over chai tea lattes

Endless amounts of prayer support

***

If you have ever been in the hospital for an extended period, or had a major life-shift that consumed hours of your days and nights, you know the significance of these gifts.  If you have never has such “luck,” you can imagine the significance.  And if you have ever wondered how to help someone in a life-changing situation, see the above for ideas.  These gifts saved our sanity.

These we have been given as we have entered into our new reality.  My heart is overwhelmed with both humility and gratefulness.  This is what it means to be part of a family.  This is what it means to be loved.

It reminds me of a hymn that, years ago, struck me as applying to someone else and now apply fully to me and mine.  I hope and pray that I can return this abundant love to others.  May God bless you as you have so blessed us.

The Servant Song (Richard Gillard)

Brother, sister, let me serve you
Let me be as Christ to you
Pray that I may have the grace to
Let you be my servant, too.

We are pilgrims on a journey
and companions on the road
we are here to help each other
walk the mile and bear the load.

I will hold the Christ-light for you
In the night-time of your fear;
I will hold my hand out to you
Speak the peace you long to hear.

Brother, sister, let me serve you
Let me be as Christ to you
Pray that I may have the grace to
Let you be my servant, too.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. beth@redandhoney
    Jul 28, 2011 @ 12:58:45

    So glad I could play a teeny tiny part in serving you guys. Hope the cleaning supplies are working out ok.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

